© 2024 All Rights reserved WUSF
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
You Count on Us, We Count on You: Donate to WUSF to support free, accessible journalism for yourself and the community.

State Considers Issuing Certificates After Miscarriages

Florida could begin issuing what's essentially a fetal death certificate to women who have had miscarriages.

The House voted 115-1 Wednesday for what's called the " Grieving Families Act."

At a parent's request, the state would issue "certificates of nonviable birth" to women whose pregnancies end after nine weeks and before 20 weeks of gestation.

Pregnancies that end at 20 weeks or later are considered stillbirths and death certificates must be issued. Parents can also request a birth certificate in such cases.

A similar Senate bill has one more committee stop before it's ready for a full chamber vote. It has been unanimously approved in its first two committee stops.

Copyright 2017 Health News Florida